The Return of the Comeback Kid!

John Ritter, another Comeback Kid. (Obscure? Yeah. But look, it's Susan Dey!)

I’m always afraid I won’t see him again. But he’s back, baby!

I love a good challenge, sometimes to my own detriment. Yes, I’ve been known to create obstacles where there aren’t any, just to see if I can clear them. But something is different now, and I think happening it’s along the same lines as my New Year’s resolutenesses—I’m just designing obstacles better suited for me. I’m not making them smaller, and I’m certainly not making them easier, so it’s the only thing left I can figure.

I’m a sucker for all of those comeback movies, too, even when they’re dumb, terribly predictable movies, and even when they lose. The Bad News Bears, Independence Day, The Sting, Cool Hand Luke, RockyThe Jerk, The Karate KidCaddyshack, HoosiersIt’s A Wonderful Life. I am especially fond of Miracle, the movie about the 1980 US Olympic Hockey Team, because they won every single game after being behind in the second period. Obviously from the list, I have kind of a twisted sense of what “comeback” means. But it’s the struggle I love to watch, the intent to accomplish something so huge that it seems insurmountable. What can I say, I like the drama of a last-minute victory. And defeat is almost never final.

If my January is any indication of how my year is going to go, then I have NO desire to back off of what I’m doing because it’s clearly working. I’ve made headway on every single front. Health. Work. Money. Fun. Sleep. Leisure. You name it, I’ve gotten a lot done already.

One of the most exciting things that’s happened is a dream come true. I finally own a real piano! I got it tuned up over the weekend, and I did my first recording earlier this week. Man, what a giant cathedral of possibility that is. I’m so happy for my analog upgrade, I feel like I fell out of a Kansas tornado and am hearing in color for the first time.  A lot of the song factories I built last year call for piano in a very big way, and it was so easy to record, I’m going to start some rough tracking. My first album completely avoided piano because I couldn’t easily record the real thing, but as it was my first instrument (I started when I was about 3 or 4), I play a lot and write on it all the time.

I think I was only afraid that my Comeback Kid wouldn’t come back because the last year was so hard. But I guess he just took a nice long vacation while I toughened up and dug deep. Fine by me. Next time, though, I’d like to be the one with the vacation. At least for a few days, until I get bored and want to get back to work.

I saw Lorenzo’s Oil for the first time this week, and it’s one of my new favorite comeback movies. It opened with what has to be one of the most powerful statements I’ve ever read:

“Life has meaning only in the struggle.
Triumph or defeat is in the hands of the gods…
so let us celebrate the struggle!”
—Swahili Warrior Song

It had to be a song, didn’t it?

Leave a Reply

